top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Standalone Saturday!! ep 1

Updated: Dec 7, 2020


I have read too many books so I'm basically trying to think of creative ways to recommend them to all of you! 😂✨


Introducing another segment that I'm doing: Standalone Saturdays! Wherein I recommend 2 standalone books for you to read that you could probably finish over the weekend? Maybe? Or something to last you a week until the next Standalone Saturday!


Well, in case you aren't in the mood for any of the fantasy books that I recommended yesterday here are some standalones that are not all exactly from the fantasy genre. One of them is a Fantasy actually but in the next segments I might focus less on Fantasy, let's see. Just like my Friday segments I will be trying to incorporate both Adult and Young Adult books 🌙

 

┈ Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

“I had absolutely no interest in being somebody else’s muse. I am not a muse. I am the somebody. End of fucking story.”

I thought that it would be right to start this segment with the only standalone book that I have read 3 times now at this point. If you still have not read this...what are you doing? Daisy Jones & The Six is an Adult "Historical Fiction" about a band and why they broke up at the peak of their career. It's told in a series of interviews which I found very engaging.


If you ask me: the audiobook version is definitely the best way to consume this rollercoaster of a story. It's so hard for me to accept that the characters in this book aren't real because you could tell me that Daisy Jones & The Six was a real band in my parents' time and I would completely agree with you. Every character had their own flaws and are all far from perfect but I couldn't help but root for them. And anyways, isn't that the reason we feel like we could relate to them?


For a standalone book, I was attached to every character so fast. But aside from the characters the plot had it's own twists, turns, ups, and downs that I had no idea what to do with myself.



┈ Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

“Yes, Venera and Hawk and all of your family may be illusions, but they still love you. And love is real. Love is a choice”

Were you looking for a slightly darker and diverse read? With strong family themes? Great, you found one! This is probably my favorite Amanda Foody book to this day. It's set in a carnival and even though it can be compared to Caraval, the plot is significantly different even though they have somewhat similar settings and tones.


Go into this knowing the least amount of info, trust me! Anything else you need to now is that it has great themes and it probably a book you could fly through.


I still think about this book even after years of reading it. And a great book to try out in preparation for the spooky season.



 

Tell me what your reading plans are for the week! Classes have been looming over me and I just want to keep reading...

Do you have any great standalone book recommendations? I would love to see them!


stay safe, wear a mask, enjoy your books ♡





*I do not own any of the quotes or book covers. All rights to the publishers and authors. No copyright infringement intended.

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page