top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

33 Queer SFF (Science Fiction and Fantasy) Books



As a lover of all things SFF, I have summoned 33 books for you to choose from (or anticipate for) that will hopefully last you the whole month... or maybe the year.


Fair warning that I am including Speculative Fiction under the SFF genre for the sake of this list.


Currently, I already have an ongoing recommendations segment on my blog called Fantasy Recs Friday wherein I talk about 2 books I have read and 2 books that are on my Priority-TBR list. But here I wanted to highlight specific ones that have Queer Representation in the story, even though some are ones that I have yet to read. You now cannot tell me that you have never encountered a queer fantasy book ever. Even with how long this list is, I'm sure I have missed more than a few books because there are so many out there if you just choose to look for it.


There are just mostly books that are on my own personal lists of what I keep track of and am looking forward to.


Not all these may have it at the forefront but they all do have Queer representation. Especially since I have also yet to read about half of these titles so I can't give you the specifics. Some are backlist titles (for those of you who might have missed that they have Queer rep) but about half are 2021 releases.


Of course, all of these books are more than their Queer representation. Diverse books and stories are more than their trauma and I hope we could stop seeing them as such every time. All kinds of stories are important and it's great that we have authors who are brave enough to write about their own experiences but it's also important to remember that people are more than their trauma. STORIES are more than their trauma. Just because someone isn't writing about their trauma doesn't mean that they don't have a story to tell ⭑


I am not always trying to pitch books when curating lists like these, sometimes I just want to share and say things about them, so that's why I don't really add the synopsis. Goodreads links should be attached under each one of them if you want to learn more. Also, because I simply have not read all of them and I am not a reader who always reads the synopsis... but I'm (sometimes) willing to for you guys 🥺


With that, I don't necessarily recommend each one of these books and I leave it in your hands, as a reader, whether you or not you pick them up. But you are now aware of them.


As per usual, both Young Adult and Adult titles are included. All the books I have read are marked with a moon (🌙) emoji ~


Without further ado, in no particular order.... I hope I see you at the end of this list 😅

 


[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 1. She Who Became the Sun 🌙 by Shelley Parker-Chan

Publishing Date: July 20th, 2021


Doesn't that cover just scream epicness? I might have screamed when I saw the approval e-mail for the ARC. I would have read this either way and I am just extra hyped that I get to read it a few months early... and then get all of you just as excited as I am (because I think you should be).


I did say that this was in no particular order but it's also not a coincidence that this is the second time this book is on the #1 spot on my curated lists. My most anticipated fantasy release of the whole year deserves its place right here.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 2. Curling Vines & Crimson Trades by Kellie Doherty

Publishing Date: November 29th, 2020


Action-packed, magical adult fantasy with a unique magic system and morally grey characters. And can we mention that cover? I am getting all the forest epic feels.




[ ☁️ Middle Grade ]


--- 3. Mala & the Mask of the Gold 🌙 by Jaime Martin Ko Atilano

Publishing Date: July 20th, 2021


There was no way I was going to let philippine-inspired mythology pass me by.





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 4. The Song of Achilles 🌙 by Madeline Miller

Publishing Date: September 20th, 2011


Tea: I wasn't the biggest fan of this book but I understand why so many people love it.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 5. When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain 🌙 by Nghi Vo

Publishing Date: December 8th, 2020


I really am in love with Nghi Vo's writing style. The narrator of the audiobooks made me want to curl up and listen. It's probably the most soothing voice in the world and I could listen to her talk for hours.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 6. The Space Between Worlds 🌙 by Micaiah Johnson

Publishing Date: August 4th, 2020


Another book I wasn't a fan of the plot but I really loved Micaiah Johnson's writing so her future books are definitely going to be on my radar.





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 7. The Fifth Season 🌙 by N.K. Jemisin

Publishing Date: August 4th, 2015


I am dying to continue this series because this first book was just everything I wanted it to be and more. Give me all that Science Fiction and High Fantasy vibes. This was one that I didn't expect to have Queer characters but they're there and it was so normalized within the story itself. Just the way I like it because I think that's how they should be.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 8. Sorcery of Thorns 🌙 by Margaret Rogerson

Publishing Date: June 4th, 2019


I think I was screaming about this book for the majority of 2019 and I'm really not sorry about it. In case you're wondering, the male love interest is bisexual or pansexual, I believe.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 9. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue 🌙 by V.E. Schwab

Publishing Date: October 6th, 2020


I don't know how you could have possibly missed hearing about this book but I read it and I loved it so I'm including it here. Both the main characters are so blatantly queer and we love that for them.





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 10. The Library of the Unwritten 🌙 by A.J. Hackwith

Publishing Date: October 1st, 2019


Four words: Found family in hell.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 11. Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao

Publishing Date: September 21st, 2021


Pacific Rem? Poly Rep? Science Fiction? That cover?


You need not say more. I am there. I am living. I am HIGHLY anticipating.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 12. The Diviners 🌙 by Libba Bray

Publishing Date: September 18th, 2012


I was late to this train but I'm still glad I hopped on it because this is one of this series that stuck with me. I will keep shouting about this series until the day I die because the themes and the characters are just simply: everything I want.


Care for some found families, gothic vibes, and racism/oppression themes that are treated so unforgivingly for a YA Urban Fantasy? here you go.





[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 13. Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger

Publishing Date: August 25th, 2020


I've only heard good things and I am dying to get to this book.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 14. Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart

Publishing Date: April 20th, 2021




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 15. The Deep 🌙 by Rivers Solomon

Publishing Date: November 5th, 2019





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 16. Fireheart Tiger by Aliette de Bodard

Publishing Date: February 9th, 2021




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 17. The Unbroken by C.L. Clark

Publishing Date: March 23rd, 2021




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 18. Cemetery Boys 🌙 by Aiden Thomas

Publishing Date: September 1st, 2020





[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 19. Gearbreakers 🌙 by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Publishing Date: June 29th, 2021


This is currently being read at the time of posting this and all I have to say at the moment is that Zoe Hana Mikuta's writing is beautiful.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 20. Black Water Sister by Zen Cho

Publishing Date: May 11th 2021




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 21. The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer

Publishing Date: June 1st, 2021





[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 22. Darling by Eliot Schrefer

Publishing Date: June 22nd, 2021


It's a PETER PAN reimagining and I could not ignore that.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 23. A Dark and Hollow Star by Ashley Shuttleworth

Publishing Date: February 23rd, 2021




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 24. The Witch King by H.E. Edgmon

Publishing Date: June 1st, 2021


There are so many books I'm looking forward to that are publishing on June 1st and we love that for us.





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 25. The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

Publishing Date: June 1st, 2021


More Nghi Vo books in this list? Of course. Especially when it's about magicians and a reimagining of The Great Gatsby. I have no doubt Nghi Vo's writing will blew me away once again.




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 26. Jade City by Fonda Lee

Publishing Date: June 26th, 2018


This series has been on my priority-TBR for months and I have only heard good things. I already know I'm going to love this series T_T gang and angst are my jive.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 27. Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

Publishing Date: November 6th, 2018





[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 28. The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart

Publishing Date: September 8th, 2020




[ ☀️ Adult ]


--- 29. Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett

Publishing Date: August 21st, 2018




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 30. Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Publishing Date: June 1st, 2021





[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 31. She's Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard

Publishing Date: March 30th, 2021


I'm pretty sure this is more Mystery-Thriller but we're including it anyway because I am excited to read it.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 32. Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis

Publishing Date: June 17th, 2014


As a Science Fiction lover, this book sounds like it's going to be fun but heartbreaking.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]


--- 33. Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria

Publishing Date: June 8th, 2021


with the tagline being "Two sisters. Divided they burn." and the promise of dragons... we are ending this list with a bang.



 

I hope you find at least one book on this list that gets you excited, just like they did for me. I'd love to know what books you're excited for!


likes and shares are highly appreciated


follow me on GOODREADS and INSTAGRAM as well for more regular updates!

and even just to chat ★



stay safe and wear your mask,





Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page