top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Fantasy Recs Friday! ep 4


I hope all of you are still doing well! It's been a while. It's finally time for EPISODE 4 of this series. Most of these books haven't been released yet at the time of posting and I am sorry for that 😅 On the bright side, it's something to look forward to for the rest of the year since the past year has been crazy for all of us.



What is Fantasy Recs Friday?

- a recurring recommendation segment on my blog wherein I talk about SFF books separate from my reviews in a more rant-y way. I recommend 2 fantasy books that I have read and talk about 2 fantasy-ish books that I have had my eye on (a priority TBR, if you will). As a fantasy junkie that is always looking for new SFF books to read, I know the feeling. I got you.


BONUS: I try to include both Adult and Young Adult titles in each episode to cater to different reading preferences and just because I enjoy books from both age groups.


I feel like this is going to go up a little later than Friday but we're giving myself a pass because I want to get this post out in the world this week :)




 

2 BOOKS THAT I HAVE READ AND LOVED

[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker Chan ┈

Tags: Historically Asian inspired High Fantasy (Ming Dynasty)

Publishing Date: July 20th, 2021


⚔️ "Mulan meets The Song of Achilles" ⚔️


Here are the only details you need to know about this book:

some other details you can find:

-14th century china

-yearning generals

-forbidden romance

-platonic relationships

-complicated relationships

-family drama

-ghosts


...and you're good to go :)


If you like the brutal nature of The Poppy War but want some more morality issues and gender discussions thrown in ☀️ There is so much more that SPC has to offer and I am already so pumped to see where the rest of the series goes!! And I think you should be too. I had to mentally restrain myself from screaming and reading this the moment I got it because as one of my most anticipated releases of the whole year... I'm so happy it lived up to my expectations.


The writing is gorgeous and lyrical, you are missing out if you like high fantasy and this isn't on your radar already.



[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman ┈

Tags: Afterlife, AI, Young Adult Sci-Fi,

Publishing Date: April 6th, 2021


I read this for a fun and light Sci-Fi story... and that was exactly what I got and more 🌕 I did not expect to be as invested in the story and the characters as I was. There could have been more world-building and details but I really was just in it for the fun of it all.


Give me those Star Wars-esque rebel groups and AI princes that have feelings *tears* I really did lose it when I reached the ending because... I just can't believe it. I also read an ARC of this but it is now out in the world so please do read it so that you know what I mean when I say that I cannot stop thinking about it.


I mean-- it's set in the Afterlife ruled by an AI entity and that in itself already sounds so cool to me.




2 BOOKS THAT I HAVE HAD MY EYE ON


[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Jade Fire Gold by June CL Tan ┈

Tags: Chinese-inspired YA, Slow Burn Romance

Publishing Date: October 12th, 2021


Are we all dying to read this or not?? 🗡🍃


In case you haven't heard of this book, I came running when I heard that this had a slow-burn romance that reflected Katara and Zuko from ATLA. More so when I found out it was a Chinese-inspired magic system. The synopsis is so vague (just how I like it) and I just want to read this book. I think the author said this was that "has to share one bed" kind of dynamic and I am here for that.


Give me all that angst and good vibes, October.



[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart ┈

Tags: Jamaican-inspired Fantasy,

Publishing Date: April 20th, 2021


This book has been everywhere on my timelines and for good reason ✨🌿 This is one of the first Jamaican-inspired fantasies I've come across, especially in YA Fantasy and forbidden romance really is just something that will forever interest me.


Also: the dichotomy between good and evil?? hello? COUNT ME IN.



 

likes and shares are highly appreciated


I don't know if it's still Friday where you guys are at but I hope you had a good one anyway. Have ave a great weekend and hopefully, you found another book to excite you!


As usual, this University student has exams to study for and academic deadlines to meet before my bookish ones so I don't know when you're going to see me next but hopefully soon ⭑


follow me on GOODREADS and INSTAGRAM as well for more regular updates!


stay safe, wear a mask, enjoy your books ♡





Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page