top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Fantasy Recs Friday! ep 2

Updated: Dec 7, 2020


Here comes Episode 2 of "Fantasy Recs Friday"!! A (supposedly) weekly segment here on my blog where I recommend 2 Fantasy books/series that I have read and 2 Fantasy books/series that I plan on getting to very soon! Including mini-reviews and some of my thoughts on them 🧐 I'll be making sure to also incorporate a mix of Adult and Young Adult selections for each episode.


I already missed a few weekends but University has been dumping me with requirements and researches, sorry! But we gotta get that MD and PhD, am I right? At least I finally have time to curl up in books this weekend. Are any of you guys in University too?


You're in luck this Friday because I feel guilty about having missed a few weekends and have decided to include ~3 Fantasy Recs that I have read~ in this post! Do you forgive me yet?

 

3 BOOKS THAT I HAVE READ AND LOVED

┈ The Diviners by Libba Bray

As this is my first post for the "official spooky season", I think that The Diviners would be a perfect start to your October if you have yet to read it. I'm actually reading the 3rd book at the moment that I am writing this and I cannot believe how atmospheric the whole series is.


And are you looking for more diverse YA reads? Congratulations! You have hit the jackpot. There are POC reps, LGBTQ reps, disability reps (more in Lair of Dreams though) if you need to know while not just being a personality trait of some side character. But of course, I don't want you to read this book just based on that because this should be a normalized thing and not a marketing point. It deals with all of these aspects nicely though because of the fact that it is just simply... there. It's never made a character's defining trait.


If you are wondering about the content, it focuses a lot on racism, white supremacy, feminism, all that. Which is actually very central to the plot. Personally, I enjoyed the plot and characters in Lair of Dreams a lot more though but the first arc is far from boring. It's also a more slow-paced story so you might want to get cozy and have your hot drinks ready. Officially classified as a horror. Although it may be kinda spooky and creepy at times, it's not exactly something that keeps me up at night.


(Just don't listen to the audiobook before you go to sleep if you don't want a visit from Naughty John in your dreams.) 😴


If you've read the first two books I expect that you got that reference. ☠️



┈ Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

First of all: forget about the Mulan vs. Project Runway thing because I do not want to compare this book to either of those. While it does have those elements, I'd rather you go in with a blank slate and you'll enjoy this a lot more. Especially if you are a fan of the "Sun, Moon, and Stars" concept like yours truly. I mean, the name of my blog is literally "The Moon Who Listens" 🌖


The story takes a lot of inspiration from Chinese and Asian cultures which gave it a traditional feel. It's whimsical and I fell in love with both the main love interests' dynamic (when they aren't randomly kissing in the middle of some forest).


If you know me, you should know that I love a good emotional adventure story and this is definitely that.


A part of me wishes that they stuck to the contest plot a lot longer. Or that the transition of story arcs was done more smoothly but nevertheless, I highly recommend Spin the Dawn because all the vibes that you get from that amazing cover? Translates into the story as well. 💫




┈ Nevernight by Jay Kristoff┈

Introducing to you the series that made me realize how much I love Grimdark Fantasy. Grimdark Fantasy 🌚 is exactly what you would think, stories that do not shy away from darker, gory, and more matures themes/scenes. That being said, you can surmise that this is the Adult book in this post. But my favorite part of this series is how much Jay Kristoff put into the world-building of everything.


If you have heard of this book before you probably have heard about the footnotes... uhm... aspect. I am here to tell you that it is actually my favorite part to read and if you are having a hard time getting into it, I highly suggest picking up the audiobook for this. It's very well performed especially with regards to battle sequences that will leave you breathless. It also makes the footnotes a lot easier to follow because you don't need to keep flipping trying to find them (pro tip!).


And finally, if you are a fan of dark academia, this book... is absolutely perfect for you. I'm talking about the first book specifically because the next book, Godsgrave, does move away from it but the best aspects (character relationships) that will make you fall in love with Nevernight are definitely a constant even towards the second book.


I have yet to read the final book in this trilogy but Nevernight is a must read whether you are a character-driven or plot-driven person because I can attest that those are the strongest points of the series.


2 BOOKS THAT I HAVE HAD MY EYE ON


┈ The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

If I could get my hands on a copy of The Space Between Worlds you best believe that I would already be reading it. And if you have not yet heard of this book, you are on the wrong side of the book community (I'm kidding!). Luckily, you are here now 😉


With the little that I know about this book the only thing I can tell you is that it involves parallel worlds wherein you can only visit said parallel worlds if the version of you in that world is already dead. Amazing right?


If I remember correctly this is an Adult/New Adult book. I forget to mention what age range these books are sometimes so I'm inserting that here.


All my friends who have read this book have been completely raving about it and I am mad that they have not yet stocked it in my local bookstores here in the Philippines.


┈ Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

Another highly recommended book if you follow the people that I follow in the book community but in case you have not or are like me and have yet to read Raybearer, we can suffer from the anticipation together.


I am going to be completely honest with you: that I know nothing about this book except that it is good and it involves suns. ☀️


That's really it.

I wish I could tell you more 😂


It's once again a case wherein they just do not stock this book in the bookstores that I go to @Philippine bookstores and it absolutely saddens me. If you are in the Philippines and know where to get both Raybearer and The Space Between Worlds please tell me.


*cries in agony*


So my point is: if you have a copy of this book or access to a copy... I suggest you read it so that once I read it we can all talk about it :D


 

Hope you all found new books this Friday! I hope you have a great weekend and maybe you'll spend it curling up with one of these books?


follow me on INSTAGRAM and GOODREADS for regular updates!


stay safe, wear a mask, enjoy your books ♡





Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page