top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

20 Asian-authored books on my TBR (it's also my birthday!)


The best decision I made in 2020 is to read, not just diverse books, but specifically diversely AUTHORED books. I feel like sometimes even though we tell ourselves that "yes, I am reading books with lgbtq+ or Asian characters" we are still reading white-dominated stories. I can count on one hand the number of non-asian/non-poc authored books that have a character of color as their main character. Even then, they're usually within a group so we're following a wide range of characters and the character of color is just one of them.


With that, it doesn't mean that every book on this list has an Asian or POC representation within the stories themselves because that wasn't my goal in curating this particular list and I plan on saving that for another post. I wanted this list to focus on the Asian voices in literature that I, personally, have been wanting to experience and read from. Especially as a Southeast Asian myself.


* TBR = to-be read *


✨ Today, December 8, is my birthday and the best gift you can give me is perhaps reading an Asian-authored book that is on your TBR. If you don't think you have one that particularly interests you, I have 20 on this list or you can go to my author-POC shelf on Goodreads to get some more ideas ✨



I don't know with you but I have just been finding myself enjoying books written by people from non-white/non-European backgrounds recently because of the fresh takes they bring into the respective genres that have been white-dominated for as long as I can remember.


Sending all my love to Percy Jackson and The Hunger Games but I never felt represented in those stories as a Southeast Asian. Rather, it made me feel like that there was a standard to be being an "ideal" person with these certain traits, these certain backgrounds, etc.


(maybe those weren't the best examples since both are either Fantasy/Sci-Fi... but because fiction is usually so removed from our world, I always feel like I'm quite literally put in someone else's shoes... and I'd rather experience stories from characters that don't make me feel as if I have to hide my culture but instead celebrates it like it is the most normal thing in the world. Because it is. While of course, slaying some gods, dragons, and demons along the way ✨)


It has been a widely discussed topic that recent literature has gotten more repetitive anyway (how wouldn't it be if 95% of the authors published in the past 20+ years are all from the same background: white/european). Not that I'm saying there is anything wrong with being of American or European descent, there are just so many more authors there than what the publishing giants have been putting out.


Remember: we, as readers, declare the demand of the kind of books that publishers put out (if we start putting our focus on books by authors of colors then what choice will publishers have except to do that? when all is said and done, it is still a business)



Some of these books are anticipated 2021 releases and some are backlogs because we should read what we want to read (this is a subtle reminder that you don't need to be on the hype train if you don't want to be). I have arranged these 20 books based on genre: [1] High Fantasy, [2] Urban Fantasy/Speculative Fiction, [3] Science Fiction, [4] Thiller (spoiler: there's only 1 book there), and [5] Contemporary



As the title suggests, I haven't read any of these so I could be mistaken with my genre groupings but at least you have an idea what categories they may fall under and if it’s a book for you! I also do try to go into books with little to no knowledge so that's why some of the representation tags aren't too specific. There is also a chance that I might have missed some reps.


But yes... all these authors are Asian or of Asian-diaspora and we love to see it.


Forgive me for not including trigger warnings for any of these because I usually don't know either prior to reading the book, as I want to avoid spoilers as much as possible. Based on my past reading experiences, I rarely do get triggered. If someone tells me it's triggering in general, I just come prepared for the whole spectrum(?) but I don't actively go looking for specific tags. I do acknowledge that this isn't the case for a lot of people that's why I have been trying to take note of trigger warnings as I read a certain book so that whoever reads my review can be warned if they want to be.


That's enough for the disclaimers ♡ At the end of the day, we should read books not just because they are by Asian authors, but because they are truly interesting books that have something to contribute to the literary world and are representative of our own experiences.

 

❀ HIGH FANTASY ❀


[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Historically Asian (Chinese) inspired setting

Publishing Date: July 20th, 2021


Why am I excited?


"Mulan meets The Song of Achilles"


you can’t pitch a book as “will wreck you and you will be grateful” and be ANOTHER ASIAN INSPIRED BOOK without expecting me to be interested. Not possible.


It also reminds me of The Poppy War (which I have read and loved).




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ Fireheart Tiger by Aliette de Bodard

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Asian (Vietnamese) inspired setting

Publishing Date: February 9th, 2021


Why am I excited?


"a powerful romantic fantasy that reads like The Goblin Emperor meets Howl’s Moving Castle in a pre-colonial Vietnamese-esque world."




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Tags: Retellings, Romance, Asian inspired setting and mythology

Publishing Date: July 6th, 2021


Why am I excited?


because I simply want to read more of Elizabeth Lim can do after reading Spin the Dawn. And I want to meet whoever designs her covers and shake their hand.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee

Tags: Asian inspired setting, SFF

Publishing Date: June 23rd, 2020


Why am I excited?


It looks like the girl on the cover is an assassin and we all know how I feel about those (i.e. Nevernight, The Poppy War, The Cruel Prince)





[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Tags: Romance, SFF

Publishing Date: August 25th, 2020


Why am I excited?


Phantom of the Opera + Moulin Rouge. say no more.

and the author is of Filipino diaspora ♡




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Historical Fiction, Romance

Publishing Date: January 15th, 2019


Why am I excited?


I received an ARC of this ages ago and still have to get to it + a heist and a group of friends banding together

and, once again, the author is of Filipino diaspora ♡




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Romance

Publishing Date: November 6th, 2018


Why am I excited?


I read the first few pages of this book and got reminded of a Young Adult version of The Poppy War. I have also heard a lot of good things about the themes and discussions in this book.




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo

Tags: Novella, LGBTQ+ rep, SFF, short stories, Feminism

Publishing Date: March 24th, 2020


Why am I excited?


"With the heart of an Atwood tale and the visuals of a classic Asian period drama. A tightly and lushly written narrative about empire, storytelling, and the anger of women."




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ The Burning God by R.F. Kuang

Tags: probably all of the trigger warnings you can think of, Historical Fiction, SFF,

Publishing Date: November 26th, 2020


Why am I excited?


because I enjoy getting my heart broken multiple times a day.

fun fact: this was the book that inspired this post

[I say this as I am in the middle of The Dragon Republic]





✿ URBAN FANTASY ✿


[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ We Could Be Heroes by Mike Chen

Tags: SFF, Superheroes

Publishing Date: January 26th, 2021


Why am I excited?


I already have the ARC of this waiting for me and it's basically about a "hero" and a "villain" after they lost their memories. I have no idea what to expect aside from a mix of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue + They Both Die at the End then add superpowers.




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ Jade City by Fonda Lee

Tags: Mystery, Crime, SFF

Publishing Date: June 26th, 2018


Why am I excited?


blood feuds between families.

intense action and whiplash-worthy plot




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Historical Fantasy, Asian main character, Retellings

Publishing Date: June 1st, 2021


Why am I excited?


If you out "Magician" in the synopsis, there's a 90% chance I'm going to be excited for it.

And another author who has been blessed with the best cover artists.




◉ SCIENCE FICTION ◉


[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Cyberpunk, Asian characters

Publishing Date: June 29th, 2021


Why am I excited?


they said Pacific Rim + Asian characters and I couldn't ignore it.



[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Want by Cindy Pon

Tags: Cyberpunk, Dystopia, LGBTQ+ characters, Asian characters

Publishing Date: June 13th, 2017


Why am I excited?


a society where the rich can buy lives +

I heard that there is some splendid Filipino rep




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ The Farm by Joanne Ramos

Tags: Literary Fiction, Dystopia, Feminism, Asian characters

Publishing Date: May 7th, 2019


Why am I excited?


an actual Filipino character from the Philippines + about a Farm where you get paid to be pregnant + themes on "motherhood, money, and merit to the extremes, and raises crucial questions about the trade-offs women will make to fortify their futures and the futures of those they love"





THRILLER


[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao

Tags: Thriller, Mystery, Asian characters

Publishing Date: August 3rd, 2021


Why am I excited?


"In a YA thriller that is Crazy Rich Asians meets One of Us is Lying, students at an elite prep school are forced to confront their secrets when their ex-best friend turns up dead."


sometimes I need some drama in my life.




CONTEMPORARY


[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamake

Tags: Graphic Novel, Asian characters

Publishing Date: May 7th, 2019


Why am I excited?


"sweet and spirited tale of young love that asks us to consider what happens when we ditch the toxic relationships we crave to embrace the healthy ones we need"


that in itself is so intriguing to me




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ The Weight of Our Sky by Hanna Alkaf

Tags: Mental Health (OCD), Asian (Malaysian & Chinese) characters, Historical Fiction

Publishing Date: February 5th, 2019


Why am I excited?


"A music-loving teen with OCD does everything she can to find her way back to her mother with the help of a Chinese boy during the historic race riots in 1969 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia"


I have a feeling this will break my heart while making me believe in good people.




[ ⛅️ Young Adult ]

┈ This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang

Tags: Mystery, Mental Health, Romance

Publishing Date: March 22nd, 2016


Why am I excited?


non-linear writing style with dual narrators about the disappearance of a best friend




[ ☀️ Adult ]

┈ A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Tags: LGBTQ+ characters, Literary Fiction

Publishing Date: March 10th, 2015


Why am I excited?


because this is the book that I'm saving for when the world is a little less gloomy and I feel like sobbing until 5am



 

let's talk where I am most active about books: GOODREADS



stay safe and wear your mask,





Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page