top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | Nevernight by Jay Kristoff | dark adult fantasy

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You're a daughter of the words. A girl with a story to tell.”


FORMAT READ: Audiobook (recommended) & eBook

SIMILAR VIBES: Ace of Shades, Scythe, Mistborn, The Grisha Trilogy

READ FOR: AN ASSASSIN SCHOOL (need I say more?), badass heroine, emotional punches, dark but still has humor, ‘Mister Kindly’


*All my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible unless stated otherwise—spoilers are marked*



┈ plot ✦✦✦✦✦

This book made me giggle and laugh to myself in more parts than one… AND I DID NOT expect that coming from a dark and heavy book for some reason.. ??? I was really glad that I was open to this though <3


❝ Your mind will serve you better than any trinket under the suns...

It is a weapon...and like any weapon,

you need practice to be any good at wielding it.❞


I had no idea where the story was going THE WHOLE TIME. If you’re here for the Assassin School plot (like me) it doesn’t really get there until about the 20% mark but just be patient.



┈ writing style ✦✦✦✦✦

(all the stars I can give it)


It gave me shivers (especially when she named Mister Kindly, there’s something kind of dark about it but I love it) and the timing of everything seemed perfect. Jay Kristoff knew when to hit with the perfect plot points to keep you turning the page. I appreciated that there was humor to balance all the dark and shiver-worthy parts of the book. I felt like I was on the edge of my seat all throughout. I was so invested in the plot, the characters (yes, all of them, 100% in love), the humor and darkness… It was such a nice blend of elements people. I was shooketh.



┈ world building ✦✦✦✦✦

(especially considering the effort and thought that was put into those footnotes)


The world building is so. in. depth. This is another one of those books that takes it’s time but it got me so H-O-O-K-E-D. It’s such an interesting and intriguing read. The world building is done SO. WELL. I feel like I was learning to be an assassin too hehe



┈ characters ✦✦✦✦✦

And don’t worry… the start isn’t boring just because the assassin school plot hasn’t begun. It builds on Mia’s character first which makes you absolutely invested in her. I want my very own Mister Kindly. AND CAN I JUST SAY I LOVE HER DYNAMIC WITH TRIC… I’m just putting it out there.. I love them.. don’t fight me on this.


This is a dark road we walk, Mia.

Then we walk it together,


AHHHH THIS QUOTE !! don't touch me i'm fragile huhu



┈ themes ✦✦✦✦✦

if I start talking about what this book is really about I'm going to cry all over again so it's better to just leave you to it and your own comprehension.


┈ pacing ✦✦✦✦✦

*kisses fingers* perfecto


page turner ✦✦✦✦✦

ITS GREAT. ITS WONDERFUL. AMAZING.


If you need me… I’ll be at Godsgrave…


NOTE: I recommend the Audiobook of this if you listen to Audiobooks because it is so well performed !!!! Especially for the battle scenes. If you don’t usually listen to Audiobooks I still recommend you listen to this, especially if you have a hard time with High Fantasy. This one was performed wonderfully and did a great job keeping my focus. But I do recommend that you keep an eBook copy on you so that you can follow the change in timelines in the beginning and the footnotes so that it doesn’t get confusing.


 

Thank you so much for reading! Did you like or hate this book? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page