top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver | a diverse contemporary

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“So, we’ll sit here in silence?”
“I’m cool with that, the world is too loud sometimes.”
★★★★☆

FORMAT READ: Audiobook (Recommended)

SIMILAR VIBES: The Hate U Give, Eliza and Her Monsters, What If It’s Us

RECOMMENDED FOR: if you are looking for an adult fantasy book that is high-paced and dark,, with morally grey characters and an unpredictable plot

TW: genderphobia/homophobia, abuse


*All my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible unless stated otherwise*



┈ overall thoughts 4/5

The book features a non-binary character and the commentary about gender awareness was so prevalent. I was so invested in Ben and Nathan was just so pure. It honestly made me think about the LGBTQ+ awareness and I think this book was able to achieve what it was meant for.


It wasn't so dark and negative all of the time but also was able to show positive sides of Ben's situation which I think made it easier for me to relate to as a story for someone who does not have similar labels as Ben.


I thought the representation talk was really great. I actually learned from it and I think other people would too.


“The universe doesn't have to exist outside this bedroom, and that's perfectly okay.”

There were just some inconsistencies in the writing that bothered me a bit but, nevertheless, this is definitely a book that should be in the hands of more people. It's just one of those books that I know would find home and would save someone out there.


“Labels can help people find common ground.”

PLOT:★★★☆☆

WRITING STYLE:★★★☆☆

CHARACTERS:★★★★☆

THEMES:★★★★★

PACING:★★★★☆

PAGE TURNER:★★★☆☆

 

Thank you so much for reading! Did you like or hate this book? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page