top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff | dark adult fantasy

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“There is beauty in knowing all things end.

The brightest flames burn out the fastest. But in them, there is warmth that can last a lifetime. Even from a love that only lasts the nevernight.”


FORMAT READ: Audiobook (Recommended) & eBook

SIMILAR VIBES: Ace of Shades, Scythe, Mistborn, The Grisha Trilogy

RECOMMENDED FOR: if you are looking for an adult fantasy book that is high-paced and dark,, with morally grey characters and an unpredictable plot


*All my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible unless stated otherwise*



┈ overall thoughts 5/5

HOLY... I AM STILL SCREAMINGGG !!!!


I am still on the train of pushing the agenda for everyone to read the Nevernight Chronicles. Literal masterpieces *chefs kiss*


I CAN NEVER GUESS WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN IN THIS STORY and it’s fast-paced enough to not even give me enough time to think about it. I was just sucked right back into Mia’s world and even though I know this is a dark series it just felt like home.


“If Vengeance has a mother, her name is Patience.”

┈ plot

In the first book we were mostly in an academy type setting and it was one of the main reasons I loved the book so much so I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t like this one since the plot doesn’t revolve around that anymore. Spoiler Alert: I was wrong.


I was SO sold on the fighting arena scene and I just enjoy me a good military training-ish style setting. Jay Kristoff was still able to incorporate my favourite parts of an academy setting (intimate character relationships) while diving into a new side of the Nevernight world that we haven’t seen before.


AND AS USUAL, the plot twists that I love so much are all here and present and I’m just living a good life.



┈ dark writing style

OKAY… first of all… I’m not sure if anyone else noticed the fencing references during the battle scenes but since I took up Fencing recently I noticed and it made the battle scenes easier for me to imagine. Just sharing because it’s a small detail that I enjoyed a lot, I’m not sure if the author also did that in the first book but I haven’t taken up fencing at that time yet so I wouldn’t have noticed.


What is so unique about this book is the writing style that just gives you that overall dark and eerie mood throughout the series. I swear that I get chills whenever I’m reading. And I'm so glad to see it being so consistent.


And that narration… PHENOMENAL. I do highly recommend the audiobook so go check it out if that’s a medium you enjoy and it made it easier for me to get through the footnotes since I didn’t have to keep looking for it every chapter.


”In every breath, hope abides”


┈ the footnotes

Speaking of footnotes: I’m still not sure who’s speaking in these footnotes but in my head it’s Mr. Kindly. I just LOVE the addition of these footnotes it honestly gives a whole new dimension to the story without boring the readers. It was just such a creative way to deepen the world building.


I just love the writing style of this series it’s super my type.



┈ characters

Oh Mia… she’s cheeky, intelligent, she’s relatable.


We do mostly have a new cast of characters for the most part and I do really miss the old cast but I’m not disappointed since I still got all the intimate character relationships I was looking for.


I just have to say that it was so nice to be in Mia’s mindset like to have a passenger’s seat view on how she perceives everything she was going through. BUT AT THE SAME TIME I could never guess what she would do next.


It was just so fascinating to see how both new and old characters affected her point of view and I had such a huge investment in all of them.


AND MISTER KINDLY AND ECLIPSE <3 I just get so extra happy and entertained when they're around ughh what would nevernight be without them


“For people like us, there are no promises of forever.”


┈ themes

Again, this is a dark read just so you know, but this series actually made me realize how much I like grimdark writing… so thanks Nevernight.


But other than that it tackles themes of loyalty a lot and what you are willing to do in order to reach your goals I really liked the commentary on these particular themes and I think it was delivered really well… and i just FELT IT!


“Thus, the greatest monsters get their way, by just looking like the rest of us.”

I had to re-read this halfway cuz i stopped reading for a whole year due to a book slump caused my college and forgot what happened so oops… BUT IM NOT COMPLAINING THAT I GOT TO EXPERIENCE HALF THIS BOOK ALL OVER AGAIN <3


It’s no secret that I’m woefully in love with the Nevernight and Godsgrave now as well. I can’t exactly say which one I love more because Godsgrave just gave us a whole different look on the Nevernight world. I am so excited for Darkdawn because I’ve heard that it’s the best one and I’m already head over heels for the first 2 books.


GAHHH I LOVE THIS SERIES SO MUCH WAHHHH


 

Thank you so much for reading! Did you like or hate this book? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page