top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

ARC Review | The Switch by Beth O'Leary | wholesome and endearing contemporary

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“Never been one for worse-case scenarios... when they happen, you cope.

And usually it’s the ones you never think of that get you so... why worry?”

FORMAT READ: Audiobook (Recommended)

SIMILAR VIBES: What If It's Us, I'll Give You the Sun

READ FOR: light and feel-good contemporary

GENRE: Contemporary, Romance, Women's Fiction (Chick Lit)

PUBLISHER: Flatiron Books

PUBLISHING DATE: August 18, 2020

READ DATE: August 14, 2020


*All of my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible*

*Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*



┈ overall thoughts 4.5/5

The plot reminds me of that movie with Jude Law and Cameron Diaz, “The Holiday” but make it a grandma and her granddaughter. Even the "city girl" and "country girl" aspect of The Switch is there.


However, it's actually not exactly a romance if that's what you're thinking. It's more about how to move on and just enjoy life for what it is. I know that's a broad idea but just trust me that it isn't focused on the romance aspect. It actually tackles some serious topics without making it heavy on the readers which made me that more interested. (I'm still whipped for Jackson though.)


I listened to the audiobook for The Switch and the narrating voice for Eileen and Leena are separate people that sound exactly like how I would imagine them. special note: they’re British? I liked their accents is what I’m trying to say, I had a good listening experience.


┈ plot ┈ ★★★☆☆

It still has that wholesome content and endearing quality that everyone needs a touch of right now. I actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would??


┈ writing style ┈★★★★★

For a stereotypical plot, I was enjoying myself a lot HAHA it was just so easy to get through and I felt like my grandma and my sister was reading this to me (which is kind of ironic because leena's sister... you'd know if you read this)


┈ characters ┈ ★★★★★

I went into this expecting the charming and lovable characters… and I wasn’t disappointed!! The plot doesn't go crazy but the characters were so fleshed out that it felt like they were my own grandma, my neighbors, friends, and all that.


Eileen (the grandma) has such a pure and dreamy (but still realistic) outlook on dating that I wish I had sometimes. While Leena... it was just so fun to watch her figure out how to navigate her grandma's life and learn how to just be in the moment. They were both so relatable in different ways... and I JUST WANT TO WRAP THE WHOLE CAST IN A BLANKET AND PROTECT THEM FROM THE OUTSIDE WORLD!! (except ethan he can leave)


┈ themes ┈ ★★★★☆

Underlying themes of letting other people in to your life and placing yourself in their shoes was actually really well put out. I was surprised at the balanced themes without making it too heavy or too light.


┈ page-turner ┈ ★★★★☆

To be honest, there wasn't any part that I could say I got bored of. I seriously wanted to figure out how Leena was gonna survive in her grandma's life and how Eileen was gonna take on her "london adventure".


I would see this book being picked up by people who would want a pleasant and wholesome (for the most part) story. And I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for one of those feel-good (albeit a bit stereotypical) stories to take a break from those wild fantasy rollercoasters, just like I did.


 

Thank you so much for reading! Have you read this book? Did you like or hate it? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page