top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

ARC Review | All of Us with Wings by Michelle Ruiz Kell

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


"You're family now. Whether you live here or not, you're stuck with us."

FORMAT READ: eBook

SIMILAR VIBES: The Sun is Also a Star (vaguely.. and without the magical realism part)

GENRE: Young Adult Fantasy, Magical Realism, LGBTQ+ rep

PUBLISHER: Soho Press

PUBLISHING DATE: June 18, 2019

READ DATE: June 9, 2019



┈ overall thoughts ┈ 2.75/5

I like how there were parts of the story that were crafted around music and gave the readers a bit of an inside experience to what that was like. The writing style was by far my favorite aspect of the book.


The characters bordered on what I would say is whimsical because of the magical realism of the story and their dialogue… like a whimsical personality, if that makes sense. Like that was the vibe I was getting from them. They were interesting enough to keep me going through the whole. Though, there were not a lot of things happening in the plot that interested me,… there were still a lot that seemed to be going on… and it did not sit well with me.


It was a more of an adult read than I expected going in (especially for a YA) and it was not a plot I was a fan of at first. It was a slow start and even though it was not the worst writing, I couldn’t get myself invested.


The book is very much diverse and if you don’t mind treading about the use of drugs and child abandonment then you may want to try this book.


plot:★★★☆☆

writing style:★★★★☆

characters:★★★☆☆

themes:★★☆☆☆

pacing:★★★☆☆

page turner:★★☆☆☆


*Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

 

Thank you so much for reading! Have you read this book? Did you like or hate it? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page