top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

ARC REVIEW | Night Bloomers: 12 Principles for Thriving in Adversity by Michelle Pearce


“The best decision I ever made was to bloom in the dark.”

GENRE: Self-Help, Psychology

PUBLISHER: Ixia Press

PUBLISHING DATE: September 16, 2020

READ DATE: August 9, 2020

Find it on: Amazon, Goodreads, B&N



┈ overall thoughts 4.25/5

This was honestly a pleasant read.


As any self-help book, it’s goal is to make you see things in a different light and I’m glad to say that it helped do that for me. I really like the overall metaphor of the flower blooming in the dark which branched out into the other messages.


I would definitely recommend this self-help book to people (especially writers!!) who are finding themself in a dark place or to people that are looking to try to understand what this means to people who experience it. Reading Michelle Pearce’s story (as well as the featured people) did that for me. She was able to convey her life and experiences in the book really well. Which helped me somewhat see a new perspective when it comes to people who experience these kinds of hardships. While making me look towards myself at the same time.


Even though the introduction was a little too long for my taste but perhaps that’s just my short attention span :3


“I was both fascinated and disturbed by how easy it was for me to miss something right before my eyes simply because my brain didn’t know it was there, didn’t know it was an option. “

Personally, I prefer self-help books that focus on somewhat different topics and as a current pre-med college student (and where I am in life right now) I just don’t think this was the perfect specific help-book for me but there was still a lot of helpful messages that was conveyed to me as I am a reviewer.


There are SOOO many tips and details that it was kind of impossible for me to not get anything out of it ♡


Each chapter is basically a guide to one of the 12 principles and even has a “blooming tip” and “blooming check-in” at the ends which personally was one of my favourite parts. The format was a little different to what I'm used to but it did make it easier to pull messages.


There are also “night bloomers” featured in every chapter which was really cool. Even “writing prompts” sections which I think would be especially helpful for writers reading. A lot of thought was put into this and it was definitely worth my read.



*Thank you to the author and the publisher for sending me a copy to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own*



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dr. Michelle Pearce, a psychologist, will teach you how to thrive in her practical, hope-inspiring book, Night Bloomers: 12 Principles for Thriving in Adversity. Dr. Michelle Pearce is a clinical psychologist and associate professor in the Graduate School at the University of Maryland, Baltimore. Dr. Pearce is also a board-certified health and wellness coach, author, researcher, writing for wellness facilitator, and spiritual seeker. After obtaining her PhD from Yale University, she completed two post-doctoral fellowships at Duke University Medical Center.




 

Thank you so much for reading! Have you read this book? Did you like or hate it? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page