top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings, #2) by Mackenzi Lee

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“I’m learning there is no one way for life to be lived, no one way to be strong or brave or kind or good. Rather there are many people doing the best they can with the heart they are given and the hand they are dealt. Our best is all we can do, and all we can hold on to is each other.”
★★★★★

FORMAT READ: Audiobook (Highly Recommended)

SIMILAR VIBES: My Lady Jane... but also not really (it's unique)

READ FOR: if you want the gentleman’s guide to vice and virtue… but female version


*All my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible unless stated otherwise*



┈ overall thoughts 4.75/5

I really did start this series expecting a light contemporary read but it turned out to be a much deeper historical fiction than I realized. The characters in this whole series are just so well-written. From Monty and Felicity, to all of the side characters that were still given enough depth for you to care about the. They have backgrounds that make sense with the plot (which was surprising for me because I thought before beginning the first book that this was a contemporary series).


The audiobook was also performed very well. This is also true for The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue so... yes <3... I love this series




┈ life is sometimes more than what society sets for us

Both Monty and Felicity in these books realize that life is much more than what the society has set for them for them to be. Reading Felicity's side to it just made that even more prevalent and I.... I WAS LIVING FOR IT.


Specifically for this book, Felicity's character development was just as drastic as Monty's that I was left feeling so proud of them at the end of their books. I felt like I lived through Felicity's development as she went through it. Another one of my list of favourite heroines because she instead of whining she actually takes action towards her goals. I was so hooked and the overall story just sucked me in all over again.


┈ magical realism w/ historical fiction

The magical realism was also not something that I expected??? Like, at first I was all like "is this going to work?" but in the end, it did. It made the books a bit more on the fantastical side together with the fact that it's historical fiction... it just gave me those vibes. But I was (very much) okay with it.


I loved the piracy side of this series and how it's ironic to the "lady-like" and "gentleman-like" parts. I loved everything about these books and if you are thinking about reading this, I am here to tell you that you should. I don't care what your reading tastes are like, give these two books a try.


“But there are always consequences. Even in standing still. And I’m tired of stillness.”

… and excuse me, but was that an “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” reference? Or am I just imagining things?


PLOT: ★★★★★

WRITING STYLE:★★★★★

WORLD BUILDING:★★★★

CHARACTERS:★★★★★

THEMES:★★★★★

PACING:★★★★

PAGE TURNER:★★★★★

 

Thank you so much for reading! Did you like or hate this book? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page