top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1) by Mackenzi Lee

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


“It took several thousand miles for me to begin believing that I am better than the worst things I’ve done.”

★★★★★


FORMAT READ: Audiobook (Recommended)

SIMILAR VIBES: My Lady Jane

READ FOR: s contemporary and light adventure with the perfect themes to go with it... and of course: Monty and Percy <3

*All my reviews are as spoiler-free as possible unless stated otherwise*



┈ overall thoughts 4.75/5

OH MY GOSH GUYS: HENRY MONTAGUE HAS CAPTURED MY HEART


BUT IT’S ALSO SO MUCH MORE THAN THE ROMANCE


A fast-paced plot and slow-burn romance just how I like it.



It totally failed to register in my head that this was a historical fiction until I actually started reading. But... oh boy... I LOVED THE SETTING OF THE STORY. I definitely underestimated this whole book.. I mean this takes place in a time where people are killed for being bisexual/gay/anyone who identifies as LGBTQ+ and there is high prejudice against black people. And Monty is bisexual and in love with his black best friend. Like, okay guys... Monty actually had a conversation about it with his sister who’s trying to understand his sexuality and we don’t always get to see that !!!!


I realized the reason I really like Monty and Percy's relationship is because even though it was already established at the beginning of the plot... we still get to read and go through a progression in their relationship/friendship. It isn't a character relationship just thrown at you.


Do you think this is all fluff?? BECAUSE IT ISN’T. It tackles a lot of prejudicial topics, especially those that are prevalent in the 18th century that are still seen in our modern world. The plot took turns that I didn’t think would ever happen in this book, which is another part of how much I underestimated it.


There is also an Epilepsy rep that I didn’t expect and I have no idea if it’s accurate or anything but I do think it was written into the story really well. Especially as how it goes with the prejudicial topics the book talks about.


"But I am nothing if not a gentleman, and a gentleman does not take his trousers off in a public place, particularly if the great love of his life is asking him to refrain."


┈ adventure and humor

GUYS I WAS SO SOLD ON THE HUMOR. Monty's dramaticness, all the sass, I WAS LIVING FOR IT.


… If we're going to be totally honest, I was sold every time any of the characters say anything :")


It was far more adventurous than I expected actually. I thought it was going just going to be another mushy story about english lads travelling around Europe, and it is, but it’s so much more and I'm still shakingggg. There were definitely deeper topics in the story and I greatly appreciated that. I was there every moment of their "Grand Tour" of Europe and boy was it amazing.


The adventure was there, the fangirl moments between Monty and Percy, and I even had to go to the restroom because I was walking around the mall listening to the last chapter of the book just so that I can react properly :)


“You might be the only person left on earth who thinks me decent.” “Then everyone else doesn’t know you.”


┈ characters

Ohmygosh guys, okay. If you don’t want to read this for the plot read it for Percy and Monty because their relationship is one of the best written relationships that I have ever read.


Monty’s character development !! *chef kiss*


Percy plays the violin… I play the violin… we’re meant to be!! Except that he’s fictional, "lives" in the 18th century, and his violin is indestructible compared to my fragile baby... but he's perfect for Monty so they can go live happily together.


A good character-driven book is always a good book for me. I was in love with how Monty's character wrapped up... it's so satisfying and I just really thought it was a nice ending.



By the time I finished the book I felt like I came from an adventure myself!!


If you guys noticed I didn't even use my normal review format because MAN I AM JUST BLINDLY IN LOVE with this book. I cannot see what's wrong with it and just let me be happy okay :") It's been a while since I've felt this way with a contemporary (ish) book.


“And we are looking at each other, just looking, and I swear there are whole lifetimes lived in those small, shared seconds.”

 

Thank you so much for reading! Did you like or hate this book? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page