top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Dominic Anton (Poetry Author)

Updated: Dec 7, 2020


Author Dominic Anton is coming out with a book this coming September 12, 2020! It's a poetry collection about self-help, spirituality, and travel... I don't know about you but those topics fit my interest so well.


Get to know the author of "Intuition" more with this exclusive author interview ♡


ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Queen of Volts

Author: Amanda Foody

Publisher: Indy Pub

Published: September 12, 2020

Genre: Poetry

Find it on: Amazon, Goodreads, B&N


Summary:

Intuition traverses through foreign seas on a voyage from darkness to light. The novel, told through individual poetry and free form pieces, is an introspective look at the authors kaleidoscopic mind; documenting every success and failure through the tumultuous process of growth and path to spiritual liberation. The author reminds the reader that the soul is complex: through mindsets, perceptions, experience, external attachments and environmental influences, as he breaks down the pillars of the past to reform a new state of mind, in all his broken glory.


AUTHOR INTERVIEW

┈ Where were you born/grew up at? ┈

Anton: I was born and raised in Detroit, Michigan but have been living in Miami and New York for the past six years.


┈ How did you choose the title? ┈

Anton: I was reading a book that explained the significance and nature of Intuition, which was during the time that I had started writing the book. Months later I looked back at what I had written and I could tell through experience how much I started to pay attention to my inner voice and how important it is to learn to trust yourself through any situation and felt that Intuition was a good term to represent the core essence of the book.

┈ What was your inspiration for writing the book? ┈

Anton: My inspiration was initially sparked by the state of confusion I was in upon graduating from university and I started to write to make sense of everything I was facing. The inspiration throughout the book came from visiting new countries and being exposed to everything I had endured that tested my self reliance, ability to trust people, surviving alone in a foreign environment, moving to a new city by myself, etc. 

┈ Do you have a favorite movie? ┈

Anton: My favorite movie is La Vie En Rose. The life of Edith Piaf is so beautiful yet tragic at the same time and she is one of my biggest inspirations. 


┈ What do you like most about writing? ┈

Anton: What I love most about writing is how I can record significant experiences I've faced and memorialize them in an artistic way. As I grow up, I fear that I will forget profound memories and writing allows me to immortalize them so I never forget. I love creating an entire world with words that I could always go back to when I need to be comforted.


┈ Where is your ideal place to write and/or read? ┈

Anton: My ideal place to write could be anywhere inspiration strikes. I never sit down specifically to write but ideas often come to me right before I fall asleep, in the shower or when I'm exercising. I write everything on my phone. It's also hard for me to focus when reading so I like to read in any space that's quiet with no distraction, so usually my room.


┈ What are you passionate about these days? ┈

Anton: These days I'm really passionate about dream psychology. I've been having very wild dreams recently so I've been obsessed with recording them and trying to see if there's any common thread running between them. Some people say that dreaming isn't reality, but dreams can be so vivid and can have so many underlying meanings, so I've been interested in studying them. I'm also passionate about writing my next project.


┈ Describe yourself in 5 words or less! ┈

Anton: passionate, loyal, spiritual, resilient, intense.


┈ If you knew you'd die tomorrow, how would you spend your last day? ┈

Anton: I would spend my last day on the beach/in the ocean, probably alone, listening to my favorite music. 


┈ What would you like to say to aspiring/beginning writers in the community? ┈

Anton: There's no right or wrong way to write, but there are definitely better ways to write. So make sure you learn different poetic devices, writing techniques and figurative language, as well as being clear about the type of message you want to communicate. Read other writers' work too and see how they articulate what they say. The more you learn and practice, the easier it will be. I've been writing for over a decade and I still try to improve every single day. Also, be patient with yourself and have fun with it.


 

Thank you so much for reading! Do you like poetry books too? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page