top of page
  • Writer's picture~ Althea ~

Review | 806 by Cynthia Well | travelling vibes

Updated: Aug 27, 2020


"Now don't you go falling in love"

GENRE: Contemporary, Young Adult, Realistic Fiction

PUBLISHER: Tanglewood Publishing

PUBLISHING DATE: March 13, 2018

ORIGINAL REVIEW DATE: May 17, 2018


*Thank you to the author and the publisher for sending me a copy to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own*



┈ overall thoughts ┈ 2.5/5

When I saw the cover of this book the first things that came to my mind was "adventure"... so I was disappointed that it was not really about the road trip itself but it focused on other themes. Although, in the end I wasn't that upset about it since it was enjoyable.


The tone of the book was really warm which fit the familial relationships that were focused on. It was sweet and I really like the author was able to show a bit of life after they found their dad and the times that they spent with him. Like how different it is and how it certainly brings about change because there a lot of people out there who can relate to stories like this.


It also exposed the fact that our parents are not the perfect beings that we always believed them to be when we were younger but they certainly try their best and they do what they think is best for their children.


I think the YA genre needs more books that have topics like this. Especially because these are very real topics that are prevalent in the real world.


Anyhow, even though I liked the overall tone of the book, the pacing of the plot threw me off and it was not effective enough to really bring enough of a reaction out of me. The topic was good but the execution was lacking, for me.


I also got really annoyed of our female MC in some parts. I mean, she FAINTED when she found out that some strong shampoo removed her hair coloring. First of all, I know this is a form of self-expression and I am not saying that's its wrong to have colored hair but. . . did she not notice the color running down when she was washing her hair with water?? You can always have it painted over and I do not understand how she would have fainted. This scene just bothered me a lot.



Still, I am absolute trash for good friendship stories. This was a sweet read and though it was not the best in terms of execution, it contains topics that the YA world needs to be reading more.

 

Thank you so much for reading! Have you read this book? Did you like or hate it? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts!




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an Asian pre-med uni student that loves to read and review books, helping people find their favourite one. 

ALTHEA

book reviewer and blogger

ABC logo.png
Subscribe to My Mailing List!

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page